Walking a Sculpture, Final Artifact

April 2, 2011 § Leave a comment

Walking a Sculpture, Final Artifact.

13 x 13 x 10cm.

A couple of posts ago I showed documentation of a walk I had made in the Pentlands, I carried a hand full of clay with me, moulding it as I passed through the landscape so that the time between reaction and creation would be as minimal as possible. When I tried to fire the clay in my oven it exploded, at first I was quite defeated but decided it was worth attempting to put the piece back together. The explosion was actually quite fortuitous, leaving the piece marked by lines, cracks and abscesses, creating a drawing across the surface that has elements of survey maps and tectonic plates.

Tagged: , ,

Leave a comment

What’s this?

You are currently reading Walking a Sculpture, Final Artifact at Elliott Burns.

meta